Koh Samui

Koh Samui is an island in the Gulf of Thailand which is part of the province of Suratthani. Located about 25 km from the coast, to +/-1 hour flight from Bangkok, it measures about 21 kilometres about 25 kilometres.
A peripheral 55 kilometers, largely coastal road, encircles the island.
She is green, planted more than 4 million coconut trees, and bordered by white sand beaches.

Koh samui has been a fairly late development. Until the arrival of the first tourists around 1980, she never was populated by fishermen from China and owned only dirt roads.
Gorgeous beaches have attracted more and more tourists, initially hippie style, at the time where the links with the Mainland were by boat. The construction of an airport in the 1990s has increased the number of arrivals, multiplied the possibilities for housing and the quality of the accommodation increased considerably.

The most beautiful beaches of Samui extend over the East Coast, the most popular being Chaweng and Lamai, where one can find a lot of shops and restaurants. Bo Phut and Mae Nam (to the North) are other popular beaches. Apart from the beaches, the other attractions of the island are the waterfalls of Hin Lat and Na Mueang; the phallic rock formations of the southern end of Lamai; the garden of butterflies, the aquarium and the zoo to the Tigers, the farm crocodiles; a huge image of the seated Buddha (Big Buddha) in the Northeast; a training centre for the picking of the coconut by monkeys; NATHON West, which includes the administration and where the main port of Samui; fighting buffaloes; the snake farm; at the center of the island aloft, magnificent point of view, the 'magic garden' with a small waterfall and all around dozens of statuettes that have been sculpted in stone by a local resident. etc...

Climate: tropical, hot all year round.
December to March is the best season to visit koh Samui, the temperatures are not too high (30 ° C anyway), nights are cooler. A few tropical showers may fall in December.  From April to may are the hottest months, the falling rain rarely. From June to September, time is a little less hot and sometimes interspersed with some rain. October and November are the wettest months, even if it does not rain every day.




Activités

Be it by boat, speed boat, Jeep 4 x 4 or in air-conditioned car, we can easily discover nearby islands, rides on the back of elephants, the waterfalls, the show of monkeys, Tigers, snakes, etc, visits to temples, Big Buddha and much more...
You can also enjoy the benefits of Thai traditional massage, which can be played directly on the beach, facing the sea, or in many island massage parlors.


A few examples:

-Day of discovery of the island
-An elephant walk
-Day Tour of the island by boat
-Grandfather and grandmother rocks
-Big Buddha
-Magic garden
-Mummified monk
-Theatre of the apes
-Crocodile Farm
-Butterfly farm
-Snake farm
-Zoo of koh samui
-Waterfalls
-Discover Koh phangan by boat
-Ang Thong national park
-Snorkeling at koh Tao
-Private boat rental
-Day sea fishing
-Thai Boxing
-Discos
-Cabarets

Koh Samui

Koh Samui Thailande Carte
Koh Samui est une île du golfe de Thaïlande qui fait partie de la province de Suratthani. Située à environ 25 km des côtes, à +/- 1h de vol de Bangkok, elle mesure environ 21 kilomètres sur 25 kilomètres.
Une route périphérique de 55 kilomètres, en grande partie côtière, encercle l’île.
Elle est verte, plantée de plus de 4 millions de cocotiers, et bordée de plages de sable blanc.

Koh samui n'a connu qu'un développement hôtelier assez tardif. Jusqu'à l'arrivée des premiers touristes vers 1980, elle n'était peuplée que de pêcheurs d'origine chinoise et ne possédait que des routes en terre.
Ses magnifiques plages ont attiré de plus en plus de touristes, initialement de style hippies, à l’époque où les liaisons avec le continent ne se faisaient que par bateau. La construction d'un aéroport dans les années 1990 a accru le nombre des arrivées, les possibilités pour se loger se multiplièrent et la qualité des hébergements augmenta considérablement.

Les plus belles plages de Samui s’étendent sur la côte Est, les plus populaires étant celles de Chaweng et Lamaï, où l’on peut trouver beaucoup de boutiques et de restaurants . Bo Phut et Mae Nam (au Nord) sont d’autres plages populaires. Hormis les plages, les autres attractions de l’île sont les chutes d’eau de Hin Lat et Na Mueang; les formations rocheuses phalliques de la pointe sud de Lama; le jardin des papillons; la ferme aux crocodiles; une énorme image du Bouddha assis (Big Bouddha) au Nord-Est; un centre d’entraînement pour la cueillette des noix de coco par les singes; Nathon à l’Ouest, qui regroupe l’administration et où se trouve le principal port de Samui; les combats de buffles; la ferme aux serpents; au centre de l’île, en altitude, de magnifiques point de vue; le « magic garden » avec une petite cascade et tout autour des dizaines de statuettes qui ont été sculptée dans la pierre par un habitant local; etc...

CLIMAT : tropical, il fait chaud toute l'année.
De Décembre à Mars, c'est la meilleure saison pour visiter koh Samui, les températures ne sont pas trop élevées (30°C quand même), les nuits sont un peu plus fraîches. Quelques pluies tropicales peuvent tomber en Décembre.  D’Avril à Mai, ce sont les mois les plus chauds, la pluie tombant rarement. De Juin à Septembre, le temps est un peu moins chaud et parfois entrecoupé de quelques pluies. Octobre et Novembre sont les mois les plus pluvieux, même s'il ne pleut pas tous les jours.


Activités

Ang Thong Thailande Cocotiers plage Soleil
Que ce soit en bateau, en speed boat, en jeep 4 x 4 ou en voiture climatisée, on peut facilement découvrir les îles voisines, les balades à dos d'éléphants, les chutes d'eau, les show des singes, serpents, etc..., les visites aux temples, Big Bouddha et bien d'autres choses encore ....
On peut aussi profiter des bienfaits du massage traditionnel thaïlandais, qui peut être pratiqué directement sur la plage, face à la mer, ou dans les nombreux salons de massage de l’île.


Quelques exemples :

- Journée découverte de l'île
- Promenade à dos d'éléphant
- Journée Tour de l’île  en bateau
- Rochers de Grand-Père et Grand-Mère
- Big Buddha
- Magic garden
- Moine  momifié
- Théâtre des  singes
- Ferme  aux crocodiles
- Ferme aux  papillons
- Ferme aux serpents
- Zoo de koh samui
- Cascades d'eau
- Jet ski
- Découvrir Koh phangan en bateau
- Le parc national de Ang Thong
- Plongée en apnée à koh Tao
- Location de bateau privé
- Journée pêche en mer
- Boxe thailandaise
- Discothèques
- Cabarets